Another beautiful day in Dunbartonshire and what better way to spend it than a sail on Loch Lomond.  My dear spouse had made off to the city , to meet a friend for lunch, and attend a literary/political event later in the day.  I therefore felt no guilt as I headed for Sweeney's boatyard armed with my trusty Nikon D3100.

This was my first loch cruise of the year and the 'Astina' was only half full, allowing for free movement around the deck.  My fellow passengers sounded as though most of them had crossed the Atlantic to be aboard and several thousand dollars of Canon and Nikon gear was on display.


I was pleased to see the sea-plane parked at Cameron House and resolved to get a few shots of her take-off from this new angle.
The cruise progressed and I snapped away happily for the next ten minutes until suddenly I heard the throb of propellers. Turning my head in the direction of Cameron House I saw the beautiful yellow plane move on the water.  "Ya beauty", I intoned silently as I raised my trusty Nikon and began snapping.. ............... "Whit the f***", I intoned less silently as nothing happened.  The plane rose majestically as I fired blanks.. The battery signal flashed sarcastically at me and I imagined it saying, "How often huv a telt ye? Always huv a spare battery!", in a clipped Japanese accent.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Retired from a life of toil and having as good a time as failing health permits with fine family, good friends and a couple of cameras.
    Looking forward to some years in an independent country where there is such a thing as 'society'.

    Archives

    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013

    Categories

    All